Go Search
Image of a Welcome to NHS Lanarkshire hospital sign 

About Us 


NHS Lanarkshire is responsible for improving the health of more than 654,490 people living within the North and South Lanarkshire local authority areas.

There are three district general hospitals in the area - University Hospital HairmyresUniversity Hospital Monklands and University Hospital Wishaw.

Each of these hospitals has an accident and emergency (A&E) department and provides a range of specialist medical and surgical services. Maternity services are based at University Hospital Wishaw.

Primary health care is provided in the community and includes general practitioners (GPs), dentists, pharmacists, health visitors and a wide range of health professionals.

NHS Lanarkshire's primary care facilities include health centres and community and day hospitals.

NHS Lanarkshire employs approximately 12,000 staff.

Link to information about Hairmyres Hospital
Link to information about Monklands Hospital
Link to information on Wishaw General Hospital
Link to information on Community Hospitals